Accreditation & affiliates list

More than 750 doctors and midwives are registered as shared maternity care affiliates with the Women's.

There is a joint accreditation and reaccreditation process with Mercy Health, Western Health and Northern Hospital.

Affiliates list

Download a list of our shared maternity care affiliates (current as at October 2014).

Accreditation and re-accreditation as an affiliate

General Practitioners & Obstetricians

To apply for Shared Maternity Care affiliation for the 2014 – 2016 triennium at the Women’s Hospital, Mercy Health, Western Health and Northern Hospital, you need to complete an accreditation application form.  The 2014-2016 triennium accreditation application form can be downloaded below.

Every three years, affiliates will be invited to undertake reaccreditation in order to maintain their accreditation. Reaccreditation criteria differ from initial accreditation criteria.

Re-accreditation requirements for 2017-2019 are:

  • Current Medical Registration and Medical Indemnity Insurance
  • Ten pregnancy related QI&CPD points, or
  • Attendance at 2014, 2015 or 2016 annual half day Shared Maternity Care Workshop held jointly by the Women's in the current triennium
  • Agreement to undertakings


Midwives seeking accreditation as a Share Maternity Care Affiliate will need to complete the accreditation application form for Midwives. The 2014-2016 triennium accreditation application form for midwives can be downloaded below.

Re-accreditation requirements similar to those for GPs are anticipated. Requests for further information should be directed to the Assistant for the Director of Maternity Services.

Share this page
One gift to the Women's will benefit many Make a donation today